Freethinkeruk’s Weblog

UK Political weblog

Treason?

In the post today I received my Poll Card for the forthcoming European and local council elections. I don’t usually bother to read all the guff on the back but being a bit bored I suppose, this time I did. It included the following instruction. “Show the presiding officer the number and other unique identifying mark on the back of the ballot paper…….”

I rang the Local Returning Officer and asked him if this ‘number and unique mark’ could in theory be used to identify how I voted. Well, apparently it can but only if I were suspected of Treason! It seems that the master copy of numbers & marks are sealed and kept for six months following an election and were it found that a ballot paper had for example treasonous remarks on the back of it then a judge could order the unsealing of the master copy in order to identify the author of this treason.

Now being a Republican this is a bit unnerving as I just might not be able to help myself and as the Local Returning Officer pointed the penalty for treason is still hanging.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Treason?

  1. Dave (His Son) on said:

    I don’t agree with anything he says, I love the Monachy, long live the Queen.
    (I’m not a coward, honest, just like my neck the lenght it is!)

Leave a Reply

